
 

Washington State Department of Natural Resources ▪ Q&A: Proposed Changes in Burn Permit Fee ▪ July 2011 ▪   page 1 of 2 
 

 

 
 

 
 

Outdoor Burning / Silvicultural 
CHANGES IN BURN PERMIT FEE  

 

Which landowners pay burn permit fees? 
Burn permit fees are paid by forest landowners across the state on whose lands DNR has jurisdiction to help 
prevent and fight wildfires. This includes all industrial and small forest landowners. It applies to the burning of all 
forest debris on DNR protected forestlands—that is, silvicultural burning. 
 
How does the forest landowner benefit from having a burn permit? 
In addition to making sure that your planned burning is legal and as safe as possible, following the conditions in 
the permit protects you and your neighbors from potential wildfire and smoke pollution. Following permit 
conditions also helps protect the burner should the fire escape, since a person who negligently causes a wildfire is 
responsible for the fire suppression costs. 
 
Why is DNR increasing burn permit fees? 
The Washington State Clean Air Act (RCW 70.94.6534) directs DNR to set burn permit fees at the level 
necessary to cover the costs of its burning permit program. Current burn permit fees only cover about 18 percent 
of program costs. The 2011 Legislature authorized DNR to increase permit fees by $80 plus $0.50 per ton for 
each ton of material burned in excess of 100 tons. Increasing permit fees as authorized by the Legislature allows 
DNR to comply to the maximum extent possible with the statutory direction in the Clean Air Act. 

Nevertheless, the new fees will not cover the costs of the program as implemented in past years, resulting in an 
expected 40 percent overall reduction in funding available to implement the silvicultural burn program. 
 
What changes are expected in the cost of permit fees?  
Permit fees are based on the tonnage of forest debris to be burned. The minimum permit cost (burns with 100 tons 
or less of fuel) will increase from $25.50 to $105.50. The table here compares the current fees with the new fees. 
 

Tons Current Fee New Fee 

 0-100 $      25.50 $     105.50 
 101-500 127.00 357.00 
 501-1,000 391.00 846.00 
 1,001-1,500 651.00 1,356.00 
 1,501-2,000 914.00 1,869.00 
 2,001-2,500 1,175.00 2,380.00 
 2,501-3,000 1,438.00 2,893.00 
 3,001-3,500 1,697.00 3,402.00 
 3,501-4,000 1,959.00 3,914.00 
 4,001-4,500 2,222.00 4,427.00 
 4,501-5,000 2,483.00 4,938.00 
 5,001-5,500 2,746.00 5,451.00 
 5,501-6,000 3,007.00 5,962.00 
 6,001-6,500 3,271.00 6,476.00 
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6,501-7,000 3,532.00 6,987.00 
 7,001-7,500 3,794.00 7,499.00 
 7,501-8,000 4,056.00 8,011.00 
 8,001-8,500 4,318.00 8,523.00 
 8,501-9,000 4,580.00 9,035.00 
 9,001-9,500 4,843.00 9,548.00 
 9,500-10,000 5,102.00 10,057.00 
 10,001 plus 5,365.00 10,395.00 plus .50 per ton for tons over 10,000 

 
How will the 40 percent reduction in funding affect forest landowners? 

In past years, forest landowners requested a burn permit from DNR either by phone or by going to their DNR 
region office. The large majority of permits were requested by phone. DNR field staff scheduled on-site visits to 
review planned burns. DNR used the site visits to provide landowners with pertinent wildfire safety and 
prevention information, calculate the forest debris tonnage to be burned under the permit to determine the fee 
amount, determine site specific permit conditions, issue the permit, and collect the permit fee.  

Under the new fee schedule with its 40 percent reduction in program funding, DNR will significantly reduce the 
number of burn sites visited. DNR is working to find the most effective and efficient ways to monitor and provide 
this service. The new process includes:  
 Reduced on-the-ground monitoring; less assistance for landowners with wildfire safety and prevention information.  
 Landowners will have more responsibility to plan their legal and safe burn. 
 Landowners will submit an application for a burn permit through their DNR region office. (Application will be 

available on the DNR website and at region offices.)  
 Landowners are to provide accurate information on the amount of forest debris (tonnage) they plan to burn.  
 Completed applications will provide DNR with necessary information to determine burn location, permit 

conditions, and permit fee.  
 After review, DNR will mail permit to the landowner, or the landowner may pick up permit at their DNR region office.  
 
What is the process for increasing fees? 
Silvicultural burn fees are set by rule in the Washington Administrative Code (WAC). Current fees are defined in 
WAC 332-24-221. DNR will increase burn fees by amending WAC 332-24-221 following the requirements of the 
Administrative Procedures Act. 
 
When will the new silvicultural burn fees be implemented? 
Following completion of the public rule-making process that amends WAC 332-24-221, it is anticipated that the 
new fees will go into effect on January 1, 2012. 
 
What will the new silvicultural burn fees apply to? 
When amended, the new burn permit fees will apply to all new DNR burn permits plus any existing permits that 
have not been validated and paid for. Fees will not be retroactive to burn permits validated and paid for prior to 
the effective date of the new fees. 
 
How can I provide comments on the new fees? 
You may provide formal comments at our two public hearings as DNR moves forward with silvicultural fee 
increase rule-making process to amend WAC 332-24-221. DNR also will accept written comments during the 
comment period. Information and process for written commenting are on our website at www.dnr.wa.gov. 

http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=332-24-221
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=332-24-221
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=34.05&full=true
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=332-24-221
http://www.dnr.wa.gov/BusinessPermits/News/Pages/2011_10_10_11_burnpermit_ma.aspx
http://apps.leg.wa.gov/wac/default.aspx?cite=332-24-221
http://www.dnr.wa.gov/

