
Vessel Turn-in Program 

HAS YOUR DREAM BOAT 

BECOME A NIGHTMARE? 
 Do you own a boat that is in poor condition

or is no longer functional?

 Is your boat less than 45 ft. in length?

 Do you want to help keep Washington’s waterways

clean and free of hazardous waste?

 Are you a Washington resident?

 Did you know that abandoning a vessel carries a

fine* of up to $1,000 and 90 days in jail?

If you want to dispose of your boat safely and legally but 

don’t have the resources, you may qualify for the Vessel 

Turn-in Program, managed by the Washington State 

Department of Natural Resources (DNR). 

Learn more: http://1.usa.gov/1o488ds or call 360-902-BOAT (2628) 

*RCW 7.80.120 (Plus, owners who abandon vessels are responsible for all costs

associated with removal and disposal.)

http://1.usa.gov/1o488ds



